Cakes

Apple Friands

Fresh Apple Friands

Recipe Adapted from Laundry etc

1 Medium Sized Bramley Apple
1 1/2 tablespoon Soft Brown Sugar
1 1/2 tablespoon Honey
5 Egg Whites – I used Two Chicks Liquid Egg Whites
125g Butter, melted
100g Ground Almonds
100g Icing Sugar
60g Plain Flour

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 5, and prepare your Friand tin by buttering each of the moulds – I used a muffin tin as I do not own a Friand Tin… Yet.

2. Peel and core your Bramley apple and chop it into small sized pieces, then place in a small pan, sprinkling 2-3 teaspoons of water over it. Bring to a simmer and cook until it is soft and mushy, this should only take about 3-5 minutes.

3. Add the brown sugar, maple syrup and 1 tsp vanilla extact, stir and cook for another minute or 2. You can add more sugar if desired but I think the Bramley Apples taste great tart against the Friand Sponge. Set aside to cool until needed.

Stewing Apples for Friands
4. In a large mixing bowl, whisk the egg whites using an electric mixed until just frothy.

Whisked Egg Whites for Apple Friands

 

5. Add the melted butter, flour, ground almonds and icing sugar and combine quickly to make a batter.

6. Pour the mixture into your friand/muffin tin, filling them about two thirds of the way. Drop a heaped teaspoon of the stewed apple onto the centre of each friand.

Apple Friands just about to go in the oven

7. Bake them for 20-25 minutes (mine took an extra 10 minutes) till risen and set and just starting to turn golden brown. Remove from the oven and leave to cool in the tin for 5 minutes before turning them out onto a rack to cool.

The only trouble that I had with these friands was getting them out of the tin even though I grease my tin, so make sure that you grease it really well. They were not the neatest when I got them out so I put them in little fairy cases for my presentation, they may of even baked well in them which is an option for next time.

These went down a treat when I took round to my friends on Halloween, along with the Black Forest Cupcakes I took too.

Leave a Reply

