Cakes

Halloween Baking

Red Velvet Halloween Cake

 

I have always tried to get my Red Velvets a nice shade of red but they always seem to look brown and looking like a plain and normal chocolate cake. The only time I did get a great shade of red was with some cupcakes but they ended up being really crumbly and coming away from the cases, so they ended up being cake pops.

Here are some of the Halloween Bakes that I made last year
Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies Last Years Halloween Cupcakes Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

I wanted a Red Velvet Sponge for my Halloween Cake this year and I know its cheating but I decided to use a box mix, Betty Crockers Red Velvet just so that I could guarantee that my cake would be red. A normal cake mix is made with oil, water and eggs but I decided to switch the oil for melted butter and the water for milk, and I also added a teaspoon of Vanilla Extract.

Chocolate Skull and Sweets
Chocolate Skull and Sweets for decorating.

For the Cake
1 x Red Velvet Cake Box Mix
65ml Melted Butter
205ml Semi Skimmed Milk
3 Medium Eggs
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

For the White Chocolate Buttercream
170g White Chocolate, melted and slightly cooled
230g Unsalted Butter, at room temperature
240g Icing Sugar
60ml Double Cream
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

 

1. Preheat your oven to Gas Mark 4, and grease and baseline two 20cm (8 inch) round cake tins.

2. Put the Red Velvet Cake Mix, eggs, melted butter, milk and Vanilla Extract into a large mixing bowl and whisk all the ingredients together. You can do this by hand with a wooden spoon or use an electric mixer, until smooth and creamy.

All ingredients in the bowl for red velvet 2
Red Velvet Mix, Milk & Eggs
All ingredients in the bowl for red velvet
Add the Melted Butter and Vanilla Extract
Red Velvet Mixture
Mix all the ingredients together until you have a smooth red mixture

3. Pour the cake mixture evenly into your two greased cake tins and smooth the tops with the back of a spoon.

in the centre of the oven for between 23-28 minutes or until a rounded knife inserted fully into the centre of the cake comes out clean, then cool on a wire rack.

The White Chocolate Buttercream
This is my favourite white chocolate buttercream its perfect for cakes or to swirl on top of cupcakes. The recipe comes from a blog that I always like to have a look on called Sallys Baking Addiction love the pictures that she takes, a true inspiration.

1. Firstly put your white chocolate in a heatproof bowl and set over a saucepan of simmering water, stir occasionally once melted set aside to cool.

2. In a large bowl either using a handheld or a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat you butter until soft. Sift in half of your icing sugar then turn your the mixer to a low speed (or you will end up looking like a ghost) and beat until smooth.

3. Sift in the remaining icing sugar and beat again until blended. Give your cooled white chocolate a quick stir so that it is smooth and add this to your butter and icing sugar mixture. Switch your mixer to a medium speed and beat for about 2 minutes until everything is combined and creamy.

4. Add in the double cream and vanilla extract and beat again for 1 minute until combined. Now your ready to use your buttercream.


Assembling My Cake

1. Once the cakes are cooled you can begin to sandwich your cakes together with the White Chocolate Buttercream. Place a layer of your Red Velvet sponge on to a cake board or serving plate and place on top of a turntable if you have one.

2. Spread a layer of the white chocolate buttercream, then sandwich with the second Red Velvet sponge layer.

3. Next crumb coat your cake with a thin layer of the buttercream, place in the fridge for 15-30 minutes to firm then buttercream the rest of your cake.

Red Velvet Layer on turn table
Red Velvet on cake board ready for buttercream
Red Velvet Layer on turn table with White Chocolate Buttercream
White Chocolate Buttercream layer
Red Velvet Layer on turn table sandwiched
Place the second Red Velvet sponge on top
Red Velvet Layer on turn table quick coating
A quick coating of buttercream covering the whole cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was doing my cake very quickly so you could still see some of the red crumbs through the buttercream, which I didn’t mind as much because it would add to the spookiness of the Halloween cake. I topped my cake with a White Chocolate Skull which I surrounded in Red Marzipan Roses and a few smaller chocolate skulls that I made using a Wilton Skull Mould. Around the outside of the cake I alternated the pumpkin and black cat fondant decorations that I made.

I collect the Something Sweet Magazine and in the Halloween Edition there was a mould to make ‘Witches’ Hats’, I did mind using purple candy melts, then to fill them I melted Cadbury’s Milk Chocolate and stirred in some popping candy… The perfect Trick or Treat!!

One of the very first magazines of Something Sweet I got a mice mould, I used my black candy melts to make the shell the filled it with milk chocolate and chopped glacé cherries.

I also got the Cake Decorating Halloween Special, so I was able to create the 3D fondant skulls which I dusted with black edible glitter.

Collage of Halloween Chocolate and Fondant
In the collage are some of the things that I made to decorate cake and cupcakes.

 

 

 

 

 Here are the Black Forest Cupcakes that I made, which I topped with Vanilla Buttercream and topped with the Halloween decorations that I made and sprinkles. You can find the recipe for the cupcakes Here!Halloween Black Forest Cupcakes 2

2 thoughts on “Halloween Baking

Leave a Reply

