Cupcakes

Black Forest Cupcakes

Halloween Black Forest Cupcakes

Black Forest Cupcakes

I saw this recipe for Black Forest Cupcakes on the Lakeland website a while ago, so I thought that I would use this for my Halloween Cupcakes that I was going to be doing.

For the Cupcakes
50g Dark Chocolate, (70% cocoa solids) broken into small pieces – I used Dr Oetker Dark Chocolate Chunks 70%
175g Butter, softened
175g Soft Brown Sugar
3 Large eggs
1 teaspoon Neilsen Massey Vanilla Extract
175g Self-Raising Flour
½ teaspoon Baking Powder
50g Cocoa Powder, sieved

For the Filling
75g Black Cherry Conserve – I used Bonne Maman Black Cherry

To Decorate
275g Vanilla Buttercream Frosting – I used Betty Crocker Vanilla Buttercream Style Icing

Chocolate Cupcakes and Bonne Maman Conserve Halloween Black Forest Cupcake on a plate

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. Preheat your oven to Gas Mark 4, then grease or line a 12 hole cupcake tin with cases – I lined mine with dark brown cases.

2. Melt the chocolate in a heatproof bowl in the microwave for about 20 seconds. Remove from the microwave, stir and heat again if required until the chocolate has melted and is smooth.

3. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla extract and then the eggs one at a time, beating in well between each addition. Combine the flour, baking powder, and cocoa powder and fold into the mixture using a large metal spoon. Then finally, fold in the melted chocolate into the mixture.

4. Divide the cake mixture equally into the cupcake tin and place in the oven for 25-30 minutes until well risen and a skewer inserted into a cupcake, in the centre of the tray comes out clean.
Chocolate Sponges for Black Forest Cupcakes
Allow the cakes to stand in the tin on a cooling rack for about 10 minutes then carefully remove and allow to cool completely on the wire rack.

Baked Black Forest Cupcakes

5. Once the cakes are cooled (I did mine the next day) you can core each of your cupcakes using a Cupcake Corer. Then fill each of the holes with a teaspoon of the Black Cherry Conserve. I trimmed the pieces of cake that I had cored and placed them back on the cupcake, like a little lid covering the conserve.

Cored Black Forest Cupcakes
Cored Cupcakes
Black Cherry Filled Cupcakes
Black Cherry Filled Cupcakes
Black Cherry Filled Cupcakes with tops back on
Lids put back on the Cupcakes

6. Now to decorate the top of each cupcake; fill a piping bag with buttercream fitted with an opened-star nozzle and add a spiral of frosting to each then decorate with a few sprinkles.

I decorated mine with Halloween sprinkles and some Chocolate Skulls, Spider Webs and Bats that I piped with Black Candy Melts and Purple Witches’ Hats I made using a mould from The Something Sweet Magazine and which I filled with milk chocolate and popping candy the perfect trick or treat for Halloween.

Halloween Black Forest Cupcakes 2

These cupcakes will keep for 3 days in an airtight container, if they last that long!

I took some of these Black Forest Cupcakes and Apple Friands round to my friends on Halloween Night, I quite many compliments that night about how they enjoyed the cupcakes. They also heard about the Carrot Cake I did for my friends family and said that they would love to try it.

I will be doing this recipe from Lakeland again, maybe with a little more of the Black Cherry Conserve as it went great with the chocolate sponge.

2 thoughts on “Black Forest Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

