Cakes

Madeleines

Hairy Bikers' Madelines

I went to Webbs of Wychbold with my sister the other day and I got some new bakeware with some of my Birthday money.

I had a look in Hobbycraft and Lakeland and some of the things that I got were…

01983d77a3c71c95a177b1765aee41b8650026e28d
Two Madeleine Tins from Lakeland I couldn’t wait to try them out.
017eb563b860ca3cab2c31e0862517c84ae7e1372a
A very deep box, that I will be able to fit my cakes in… As I always struggled to find a box deep enough.
019a9b89f438ea6c5319f0349543730bece231a224
From Hobbycraft I got a Chocolate Skull mould ready for some Halloween Cupcakes and Candy Drops in Black, Green & Purple, thought I would keep the Halloween theme going.

One of the first recipes that I was going to do so that I could use my new Madeleine Tins was this recipe from the Hairy Bikers’ in The Big Book of Baking.

50g Butter
1 Large Egg
50g Caster Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
50g Plain Flour
Icing Sugar, for dusting

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 5.

2. Melt the butter, I did this in the microwave for 20 seconds. Use a little of this butter with a pastry brush to lightly grease your Madeleine moulds. Then set the rest of the butter aside.

3. In a mixing bowl beat the egg, caster sugar and vanilla extract with an electric hand whisk until the mixture is very pale, thicken and the beaters leave a trail in the mixture when they are lifted from the bowl.

Eggs, Sugar & Vanilla HB Madelines Eggs, Sugar & Vanilla beaten HB Madelines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4. Sift the flour into the bowl, then using a large metal spoon gently fold it into the mixture. Pour in the melted butter you set aside and fold this gently into the mixture too.

Sifted flour HB Madelines Folding melted butter HB Madelines

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Spoon the mixture into each of the moulds, then bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes until the Madeleines are well risen and are a pale golden brown.

Hairy Bikers' Madelines out of the oven

Leave to cool for 5 minutes then remove them from the mould and place them on a wire rack.
Dust with icing sugar if desired.

Hairy Bikers' Madelines on wire rack

Considering that this was my first time making Madeleines I think that they turned out really well. Okay I would of liked to of got them out of the tin a lot neater but oh my… didn’t they taste delicious!

I hope that you enjoy these little French cakes!

One thought on “Madeleines

Leave a Reply

