Biscuits & Cookies

Cardamon & Lemon Cookies

Lemon and Cardamom Cookies on wire rack

I had quite a few lemons in the fruit bowl so I thought I would do some baking with these yellow citrus beauty’s, so I decided to make a Sticky Lemon Cake and these Lemon and Cardamom Cookies.

This cookie recipe is from the Hairy Bikers’ Big Book of Baking Book I always like watching these guys they are absolutely crackers, you can tell that they have a great passion and love what they are doing.

I love these cheeky chaps

I remember watching them make these cookies on a boat in Norway on the first episode of Hairy Bikers’ Bakeation.

I have to admit I have never used or even tasted cardamom before so this was going to be a new taste experience for me. I am trying to be more experimental with the things that I bake and eat.

Makes 24 Biscuits
225g Butter, softened
150g Caster Sugar
1 Lemon, zest only
250g Plain Flour
100g Ground Almonds
3 tsp Ground Cardamon or 1 heaped tsp Cardamon seeds, ground in a pestle and mortar

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 5. Line 2 large baking trays with baking paper.

I also prepared the Cardamom seeds, I don’t have a pestle and mortar so I used my mini food processor, I also put the ground almonds in too.

2. Using an electric hand-whisk, beat together the butter, sugar and lemon zest in a large bowl until pale and fluffy.

3. Beat in the flour, ground almonds and cardamom until the mixture is well combined and comes together to form a stiff dough.

4. Roll the dough into 24 balls and place 12 on each of the baking trays – make sure that you leave enough space between each one.

5. Press each cookie with a cookie stamp or the bottom of a glass to flatten and leave decorative indentations in the dough.

I didn’t have a cookie stamp so I used a fondant mould to create the flower impression in the cookies.

Stamped Cookies before going in the oven
The stamped cookies before going in the oven

6. Bake a tray at a time for 12–14 minutes until the cookies are pale golden brown.

7. Leave them to cool on the tray for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack. They will crisp up as they cool. Store the cookies in an airtight tin and eat within 7 days.

Lemon and Cardamom Cookies in Box

 

These would make a great little gift for someone, especially biscuit lovers like my dad, you could present them in a small box lined with baking paper or in a cellophane bag tied with a ribbon.

When I had my first bite of one of the cookies, I thought ‘well that’s a bit different’ but then I wanted another and the flavour grew on me. I will be using cardamom again there is a Coffee Cake in The Hairy Bikers’ Big Book of Baking, that I will be giving ago too, along with many other recipes is this amazing book.

 

Leave a Reply

