Cupcakes

Double Chocolate & Pistachio Cupcakes

Double Chocolate & Pistachio Cupcakes on wire rack

One of the websites that I like to go on often is BakingMad, they have so many recipes on there that I want to try out. I love using the Billington’s Sugars and Nielsen Massey Extracts.

These double chocolate and pistachio muffins from BakingMad are delicious, the flavour of the pistachios paired with the dark and white chocolate are a great combination, I even think swapping the white chocolate to milk chocolate would be great too.

I made these later one afternoon, last week. I decide to go a visit my mom at work so I put them in a case with the lid just balancing on as they were fresh out of the oven. So I drove to see my mom, so that she could try one, they were still warm by the time that I got there. I have to say they were so nice to eat slightly warm as some of the chocolate was gooey inside. So this recipe gets a thumbs up from me and my mom!

Recipe from BakingMad
Makes 6 Mini Loaves or 10 Muffins

100g Unsalted Butter
50ml Hot Water
100g Plain Chocolate (70% cocoa), broken into chunks
100g Unrefined Light Muscovado Sugar (I used Billington’s)
50ml Sour cream (I used 50ml Double Cream + 1/2 teaspoon Lemon Juice)
1 Large Egg
100g Self-Raising Flour
25g Cocoa Powder
75g White Chocolate, chopped (I used chocolate chips)
75g Pistachio Nuts, chopped

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4, line a muffin tray with 10 paper cases.

2. Melt the butter with the 50ml of water in a medium saucepan until melted. Add in the dark chocolate and stir until melted. Cool for a minute or two then stir in the sugar, sour cream and egg.

3. Sift the flour and cocoa powder and whisk into the chocolate mixture until smooth. Stir in most the chopped  white chocolate and pistachio nuts.

4. Divide the mixture between 6 mini loaf tins or 10 muffin moulds and sprinkle with the remaining pistachio nuts and white chocolate.

5. Bake in the oven for 20-30 minutes until risen and just firm to the touch. Allow to cool.

Double Chocolate & Pistachio Cupcakes just out of the oven

So if you don’t fancy using pistachios then BakingMad have given a variation on there recipe.
“Omit the pistachio and chocolate chunks if you prefer a plainer cake, or add chopped peanuts or milk chocolate chunks” – Baking Mad

It doesn’t have to stop there though the options are endless just choose your favourite nuts whether its Brazil, Hazelnut or Almond etc, the same with the chocolate instead of the white chocolate add in dark or milk instead make them to suit your taste.

Leave a Reply

