Cupcakes

Gooey Chocolate Raspberry Cakes

Gooey Chocolate Raspberry Cakes

So as you know I have a slight raspberry addiction and I have many recipes with them, this one is so delicious you could serve it as a dessert at dinner, like a mini melt in the middle pudding.

It was a few months ago I came across this recipe, on a blog called Eat Little Bird as soon as I saw it I was like I have to make these, they looked and sounded amazing.

I mean what’s not to like its…
Chocolate, Raspberries & Nutella

Makes 10 little cakes
4 Eggs
200g Caster Sugar
100g Plain Flour, sifted
80g Cocoa Powder, sifted
175g Butter, melted
Small punnet of Raspberries (30 if you top the cakes with 3 raspberries)
Small Jar of Nutella (or other Hazelnut Spread)

You can halve the recipe to make 5-6 small cakes

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 6. Grease a muffin tin well with butter or oil (I used some of the melted butter).

2. In a medium mixing bowl, beat together the eggs and sugar. Then sift in the flour and cocoa powder and mix everything together, making sure that all the ingredients are well incorporated. Then add the melted butter and mix everything in again.

3. Place a tablespoon of the chocolate mixture into each of the 10 muffin holes – enough to fill the base. Next place a teaspoon of the Nutella/Hazelnut Spread on top of the mixture (I might use a little more next time). Then cover the Nutella/Hazelnut Spread with another tablespoon of the chocolate mixture. Now place 2 or 3 raspberries on top of each cake, pressing slightly into the mixture.

Chocolate & Raspberry Cakes ready to go in the oven
Just about to go into the oven

4. Bake in the oven for about 10-12 minutes (I baked mined for 15 minutes), until the sides have cooked but the centres are still a bit gooey. The mixture under the raspberries should still be runny.Gooey Chocolate & Raspberry Cakes Cooling on Rack

5. After getting them out of the oven, carefully lift each cake out of the muffin tin and serve while still warm.

The Gooey Centre oozing from the cake

These warm little gooey chocolatey pieces of heaven are good enough to be served as a dessert with a little bit of cream if you fancy. If not all of them are eaten on the same day you can eat them cold the next day or you can warm them up in the microwave for about 40 seconds and its like they’re warm out of the oven.

You can make these in a friand tin or even a mini loaf tin use whatever you have, I made mine in a muffin tin.

The next time that I make these I will be putting a heaped teaspoon of Nutella in the middle of the cakes, for extra gooey-ness in the cakes. The chocolate and the raspberries are perfect partners they taste delicious together, so if you are a chocolate lover I suggest that you try these as they are quick and easy to make, giving you a great dessert or little treat.

So as I mentioned I found this recipe on a blog called Eat Little Bird, by Thanh and the photos that she posts on there are amazing they are so beautiful presented, it is something that I aspire to do. It is a blog that I like to visit often as there are many recipes on there that I want to try, so have a look.

One thought on “Gooey Chocolate Raspberry Cakes

Leave a Reply

