Muffins

Raspberry & Passionfruit Muffins

Paul Hollywood Passionfruit and Raspberry Muffins

So this is the next bake to feed my raspberry addiction, Paul Hollywood’s Raspberry and Passionfruit Muffins.

I have never used Passionfruit before but the aroma was beautiful, I’ve had drinks like exotic/tropical juices and the taste and smell is amazing, so this was a new experience baking with this exotic fruit, one that I will be doing again.

200g Unsalted Butter, softened
150g Caster Sugar
4 Medium Eggs
200g Strong White Bread Flour
1.5 tsp Baking Powder
125g Passionfruit, pulp and seeds (from 3-4 large fruit) – I only had 60g from my 3 Passionfruits, so next time I will get extra.
175g Raspberries

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 6. Put 12 paper cases in a muffin tray or line the muffin moulds with scrunched squares of baking paper. Prepare the passionfruit pulp and seeds – I suggest using a serrated knife to cut the passionfruits as the skin is quite tough.

Passionfruits
Cut the passionfruits in half
Deseeded Passionfruits
Scrape the pulp into a small bowl 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The more wrinkly the passionfruit skins are the sweeter they will be.

2. Cream the butter and sugar together in a large bowl until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Sieve the flour, baking powder and a pinch of salt into the bowl and fold in lightly until only just combined; do not overwork. Fold in the passionfruit until just combined.

3. Divide half the mixture between the paper cases, then distribute half the raspberries among them. Top with the remaining muffin mix; stud the tops with the remaining raspberries.

4. Bake for 15-20 minutes until the muffins are golden and spring back when gently pressed. (I baked mine for a total of 25 minutes)

Fresh out of the ovenMuffins fresh out of the oven

I really enjoyed these muffins and so did my dad, well firstly they had raspberries and I love them, the passionfruit added a beautiful sweet taste and the seeds added that little bit of crunch. My mom even took some into work the next day and they thought that they were very nice too. Great for breakfast!
I have already gone out and got some more passionfruits to make these muffins again, as they went in a flash.

 

Leave a Reply

