Brownies & Traybakes

Raspberry & Hazelnut Brownies

Raspberry and Hazelnut Brownies on plate

 

I have never made a brownie from scratch before, I have cheated by using a Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie Mix but I have always wanted to perfect my own. Fudgy, Gooey chocolate heaven. As I love raspberries I wanted to incorporate them into the recipe, along with chopped hazelnuts for that bit of crunch. So all the things that I love in one bake!

Chocolate, Raspberries & Nuts

Makes: 16 Squares

IngredientsBaking ingredients for Brownie
200g Dark Chocolate (70% cocoa)
100g Unsalted Butter
200g Caster Sugar
4 Large Eggs
1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
60g Plain Flour
60g Cocoa Powder
50g Hazelnuts, chopped
100g White Chocolate, chopped or Chocolate Chips
150g Raspberries

1. Preheat the oven to Gas Mark 4. Grease and line a 20cm (8 inch) Square cake tin with baking paper.

2. Break up the dark chocolate and put it into a heatproof bowl set over of a saucepan of hot, but NOT boiling water (make sure that the bottom of the  bowl does not touch the water). Leave the chocolate to melt, stirring occasionally – then remove the bowl from the saucepan – I suggested using a tea towel due to the steam that comes from the saucepan once the bowl is lifted. Then set aside until needed.

Melted Dark Chocolate
Melted Dark Chocolate

3. In a bowl of a mixer, beat together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy – it should be very pale. Add in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each one is added.

4. Add the vanilla extract and the melted chocolate, then stir gently using a spatula.

Mixture together Brownie Ingredients
The melted chocolate being stirred into the mix

5. Sieve the flour and cocoa powder into the bowl, add the chopped hazelnuts and white chocolate chips and fold in until the mixture is combined and everything is incorporated.

Mixing Hazelnuts into the Brownie Mixture
The flour, cocoa powder, hazelnuts and white chocolate chips, are all in ready for the big mix.

 

So while I was mixing the nuts and chocolate together… my spatula broke. The red silicone spatula part split as I was mixing everything in, it was lost in the chocolately heaven. So the handle, the silicone part and my hands were covered, what a mess! – So after scraping most of it back into the bowl… don’t want to waste any of the chocolate. I had a little taste… hmmm chocolate!’

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Spoon halve the mixture into the prepared tin and spread evenly – I suggest using a knife to make sure you get it in the corners. Scatter the raspberries over the brownie mixture – I also added a few white chocolate chips.

Brownie Mixture with layer of Raspberries
Raspberries scattered on layer of brownie mixture
Raspberry and White Chocolate Layer
I added some extra white chocolate chips… the packet was looking at me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then add the remaining mixture on top and spread evenly. As I used frozen raspberries I crumbled a couple on top to add a little colour with a few more white chocolate chips.

Brownie before going into the oven
Thought that a sprinkling of raspberry pieces and white chocolate chips would add a little colour.
Second layer of Brownie mixture
The rest of the brownie mixture added on top of the raspberries

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes until the brownie feels firm when pressed.

8. Remove from the oven and cool in the tin on a wire rack. When the brownie is cold remove from the tin and cut into 16 squares.

Baked Raspberry & Hazelnut Brownies
Brownie fresh out of the oven, cooling on a wire rack

Notes
Some of the things that I would like to change the next time that I make this brownie are the following;

  • I will be halving the amount of hazelnuts – so only adding 25g Hazelnuts
  • I will use fresh raspberries instead of frozen as I think that they will keep their firmness better when baked.
  • Instead of using white chocolate chips I would chop up a bar of white chocolate as I think it would be nice to have bigger pieces of the chocolate.
  • I also will be baking it for a little bit longer as I found the middle of the brownie to be too soft .

I am making these alterations just for my personal taste as that is how I would like it. You can make your own.

Cut up Raspberry & Hazelnut Brownies

Leave a Reply

